Photo Art Friday – Lines

By way of fellow Fototrisser Anki-itte I found my way to another photo challenge, called Photo Art Friday. Considering the blog-name I use, I couldn’t very well refuse…

I hope this will be a wonderful excuse to play unreservedly with images and imagery, and to gain new insights and a wider experience from sharing and engaging with like-minded others!

So. First out is the topic of Lines. Not normally my preferred kettle of fish, but then I had a couple of pictures, newly taken, that fit right into that category… And I had the inspiration of site Pixel Dust Photo Art, where admin Bonnie hosts the challenge.

Time to play…

(Please click images for best view (at 100%).)

I use noise reduction in Camera raw to create a slightly “painted” feeling, and the resulting images have been merged with my own canvas and terracotta textures respectively. The former was also merged with the colouring of a “Painterly” texture from Pixel Dust Photo Art – thanks Bonnie! πŸ™‚ I then used layers and blending options in Photoshop (hard and soft light, screen, colour burn) to create the contrast and light I wanted, and some adjustment layers and filters to reduce saturation and enhance detail (high pass).

The second image was electronically double exposed using a horisontally flipped extra layer to create the somewhat chaotic mirror shadow. I thought it jarred nicely with my vaguely uneasy feelings about the whole thing… πŸ˜‰

See more photo art at

23 responses to “Photo Art Friday – Lines

    • Thank you! I had a great time making them, considering that shots of technological installations are at best ambiguous for me… πŸ™‚ I appreciate your comment!

  1. Welcome to PAF – Your entry is wonderful. I like the one of the left the best but I do find the 2nd one very interesting with the effect you used. It’s always amazing to see what everyone comes up with for the prompts.

  2. Your editing is beautiful. I like the picture on the right with the double layer. It makes the subject so much more interesting and is perfect for Lines.

    • I think perhaps the one on the left is more easily accessible, but perhaps the one on the right is a more personal rendering… Thanks for your comment!

  3. Great processing! I am always partial to photo art that has a canvas-y texture applied. So pleased that you are sharing your artwork with Photo Art Friday.

    • Thank you! I wasn’t sure about how detailed one was expected to be, but as it was my first entry I’d rather err on the side of too much detail, I guess… πŸ™‚ Fairly often I can’t quite remember how I got to the eventual result, though, so it might not be so elaborate in the future… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

