Photo Art Friday – Signed and Sealed

This took a while, but I’ve been down with a terrible cold…

I found this texture lovely, but very challenging to work with. In the end, it kind of solved a problem I’ve been having…

For this, I used two photographs:

 
The first was actually taken with the idea of turning it into a “Phoenix rising” kind of image, but I’d got stuck. With the second photo, I got a counter-point I could use, and the pdpa texture Signed and sealed added an aura of legend that seemed fitting.

They were merged in Photoshop with Hard light, Multiply, and Colour burn blending modes.

Originally, I had quite a different candidate for this challenge:

For this, I just wanted that soft, pale feeling. In the end, though, it just didn’t seem to say anything more than “cute cat with nice texture”… Perhaps I should have added a papery texture at the end to smooth it off…

Tricky texture, but powerful for the right motif! 🙂

12 responses to “Photo Art Friday – Signed and Sealed

  1. Your first picture is powerful indeed … it pulled my right to it in the linky … Very imaginative putting those two shots together and very impressive the way you did it. I agree the Signed & Sealed texture did give it a legendary feel. Three cheers … beautiful job …

    Andrea @ From The Sol

    • Thanks Andrea! I was halfway to getting stuck on the second one as well, when I realised two incompletes might indeed make a whole… the idea sparked not least thanks to the colour burn effect of the texture on the bird!

  2. I love the result you got from blending the fire and the bird. Beautiful edit. It’s the pattern of the fire on the bird’s body that is so unique.

Leave a Reply

