Photo Art Friday – Brown Rice Paper

Well, it’s not brown in my version because I was looking for a little more… drama…
It also wasn’t on time for the PAF showcasing… but I’ll leave it in anyway 🙂

IMAG0538

This is one in a series, really, though I haven’t quite decided what to do with them, or if they should all be edited in the same way.

For this, I’ve really used a double edit, as I had already settled on an Instagram Earlybird style editing (actually done in Photoshop for better quality) with an added papery texture for the original htc shot. Seeing the pdpa Brown Rice Paper texture challenge, I decided to go a little further and turned it black-and-white, gave it a Watercolour filter treatment, and added the green channel of the texture (as grayscale) in two layers – one at Hard Light mode (50%) and one at Colour Burn (64%).

Sorry for the long silence, hopefully it’ll all be improving from now on 🙂

Please visit the other artists showcasing their work at

9 responses to “Photo Art Friday – Brown Rice Paper

      • Our Riley looks similar.. She will be about a year old next month. My husband found her outside of my daughter’s home one cold morning. Two days ago I saw at least four cats(feral) outside. Two are smaller and then two maybe Riley’s size. I feel bad because it is so cold and I am sure hungry. Not sure what to do. One cat beat up one of ours months ago…

Leave a Reply

