Photo Art Friday – Abstract

I think this is something I’ve had vaguely in mind for years, but I’ve never set about trying to do something about it before.

Spurred by Bonnie’s optional challenge and aided by her beautiful textures, I finally got around to do it: a ‘rock carving’ from Lapland…

I have used a shot of reindeer from my own fieldwork among reindeer herders in 2003, and two of Bonnie’s textures; pdpa Etched in Stone (of course…) and pdpa Abstract Splotches.

_MG_31410_paf

The rest is layers, blending modes and filters… (I am getting quite fond of that “Find edges” filter…) 🙂

Please, also let me add how much your comments about the Caritsa image last week meant to me! Life is not always a cruise on the highway, and while I’m kind of stuck in a hay wagon on a bumpy almost-road, photography and photo-art keep my spirits up – as does your wonderful feedback. Thank you all!

For more abstract visions, be sure to visit

31 responses to “Photo Art Friday – Abstract

  1. I think this is just awesome! It never occurs to me to use “find edges”. You’ve inspired me to get back in there and play some more.

    Kat

    • Thank you Kat! It’s just recently that I’ve started using it myself, but it can be very useful… I often like to give my images a ‘shimmer’, but sometimes that blurs the edges a little to much. Copying an original layer, ‘Finding edges’, and applying it at an appropriate blending mode can help bring that sharpness back. And then you can use it for rock carvings as well, of course… 😉

  2. Looks like you did a great job accomplishing your goal…I thought it was a rock drawing until I read the post! What exactly is “finding edges” and do you know if i would be able to access it in Elements 9? Looks like something I’d love to learn about!

    • Thanks Kris – mission accomplished, then! 🙂

      “Find edges” is a filter under “Stylize” in PS(5) – I’m afraid I don’t know if it is included in PSE! Plenty of PAF participants (including Bonnie, methinks) work in PSE, though – I’m sure someone can tell you or suggest alternative ways for a similar effect if it isn’t!

  3. Anna,
    You have a wonderful collection of images here on you blog. So nice to find you via Photo Art Friday. I quite like the way this one seems etched on the stone. Are you from Finland? I shall be visiting a friend there in August! SO exited.

    Thanks again for stopping by my place.

    • Thank you Teri! PAF is great for widening one’s horizons 🙂
      I’m Swedish, so it’s next door to Finland, but the countries are closer in the north than they are down south (where I live now). I’m sure you’re going to have a wonderful stay!

  4. impressive editing Anna and I particularly like the colour of the inked outlines – another awesome abstract

  5. wow, Anna!! this is fabulous!!!

    I don’t know the find edges thingie either, but I DO love how you’ve used it so BEautimously here!!

    it really is quite the adventure, eh?! I am loving these daily explorations of what a texture can BE with just a little play from me.

    well-done and good to hear you lifted up by the comments of others. it really is amazing to me how much the people here in PAF have found their way into my heart.
    xoxo

  6. Intriguing piece. The reindeer do appear to have been etched in stone (perfect pick on your texture choice). Isn’t it great how these challenges inspire us to think outside of our comfort zones.

  7. This is really excellent, looks like you have discovered someone’s old faded sketch… really great editing

    Mollyxxx

    • Thanks Mariane! I’ve had problems commenting on your site, so I’d like to take this opportunity to say that I was entranced by your creative exuberance! 🙂

  8. I love this image, transporting us back in time with perfect processing 🙂 thank goodness for our cameras! Hope all is well.

Leave a comment