Photo Art Friday – Portrait

My sweet Lo has to spend a lot of time in front of my camera for a lot of reasons, and he’s not always too thrilled about it. Cats generally don’t like it when you stare at them, and a camera does nothing but… These are shot through a window, however, and I’m reasonably sure he was actually unaware of my activities at the time!

Portraits are portraits, though, and after a while with the same model, you get the urge to do something a little different with them… thanks – as always – for the incentive, Bonnie!

So, with a little time to play I ended up with this:

_MG_31441-8_C&C

Annd then, because I was having fun, with this:

_MG_31441-8_EDP

I’ll skip the lecture, but I’d like to note that I did not, in fact, use “Find edges” for the second version… 😉 Instead, I had the first version, duplicated it to a new layer, inverted that, and set the blending mode to “Difference”, which created the contour-enhancing effect!

As a little bonus, I’m going to include a third pic today:

_MG_30267

The title of the booklet says, in old Swedish:
“Advice for all, who intend to have their Photograph taken…”

Perhaps I should read through it for next week’s challenge… 🙂

See more portraits at

10 responses to “Photo Art Friday – Portrait

    • Acctually, so do I… 🙂 But sometimes what you like best first is not what you like best in the long run, so I wanted to keep both versions for a while 🙂

  1. Stunning almost-abstract images of your cat, Anna. At first, I could only see the abstract. It took me a couple of seconds to see Lo. Love your work!

    Could you translate that little book and post the advice for us all? 😉

    • Thanks Bonnie! Haha – I could perhaps give you a few quotations…

      It’s really rather amusing; the full title is (and I wish I could do this in old-style English with confidence):
      “Advice for all, who intend to have their Photograph taken, concerning the way to dress, how to place oneself et cetera; as well as general advice on the care and maintenance of hair, lips, teeth and skin.”

      More anon…

Leave a Reply

