Waterfalls

I’ve spent a couple of days photographing running water – it’s kind of classic I guess, but one should do the classics too… Unfortunately, the ‘rapids’ and the ‘falls’ I have to practice on aren’t, really, at least not unless you’re a lilliputian. Not that it matters with regards to the water and the technique (long exposures, and do use a tripod…) but little distractions like rotting leaves and scattered twigs suddenly tend to become major parts of the picture, as opposed to if I had a real waterfall to shoot.

Never mind, for once I began by clearing up a bit first where I wanted to shoot, and then ignored the rest. I set up the tripod – sometimes across the stream with one of its legs on a root and the other two on a rock each (and yes, I did step into the stream once; wet rocks and muddy banks are not an optimal combination for getting a good grip) – and shot water. Lots of fun. Then I trudged back home with one sopping shoe but fortunately still a dry camera, and processed my shots.

I was happy. They came out nice – not brilliant, but nice – and I’d learned a bit about exposures. Pretty pictures of running water, you know, where you get that almost dreamy shimmer to the water thanks to its running trough a static landscape. But then I had the surroundings… Let’s just say they don’t fit the fairytale image. Well, at least not the fairy bit… but there’s usually a dark element to fairytales, as well… right?

So I worked on them a little, adding some textures from the KKC, and ended up with something from a slightly different kind of story…

_MG_41806

_MG_41814

What I really liked about this was that the hues and textures worked so well to bring all the elemets of the shots together. A little abstract, perhaps, but then again – what fairytale isn’t?

Leave a Reply

