Winter birds

I love bullfinches. And we have quite a bunch of them around here, but we hear them more than we see them. They keep to themselves. But every once in a while – especially in the winter, although it’s not very wintry here yet… – you spot them, a flock sitting in a tree and dropping down to the ground every now and then to pick at delicacies still available. Not unlike bohemian waxwings, actually. A lot more shy, though…

_MG_41827

As I stood there, under a neighbouring tree, trying to get closer to the bullfinches, I caught a movement out of the corner of my eye. There was someone who wasn’t very shy at all! A treecreeper was hopping up the trunk of the tree next to me, and if it was quick around the trunk, well, at least I had my camera ready in hand…

_MG_41860

Though admittedly, some of the shots were better suited for a little creative editing afterwards… so it’s a good thing I like that, too! 😉

_MG_41831_art

_MG_41863_art

Leave a Reply

